Vancouver, BC Canada

Saturday July 23rd 2011
CyberDave
Sensei Crawler
Sensei Crawler

Vancouver, BC Canada

Post by CyberDave »

Is there anyone doing the Sketchcrawl 32 in Vancouver, BC?

If so could you please contact me and let me know who you are so that we can talk about specific location.
I have some ideas but am an absolute Newbie.
I am not an artist by profession but interested in participating.

Tuesday June 14, I went for a couple of rides around on the "Big Bus" on their hop-on hop-off ride around and played tourist :)
This was to check out some places of interest to sketch. The bus was a great idea, and I went round the complete route twice, once in the double-decker and once in the open-top. For anyone thinking of using the bus ride as a place to sketch from -- the double decker is a bit too bumpy for sketching on the bus but the open-top is possible as a sketching platform. Both are a good means of getting to drop off points instead of parking downtown. Note though that the Big Bus tour is $38 for the day but you can get on or off as many times as you like. A new bus picks up around the route every 15 minutes.

Anyway, I made some notes of places to visit directly based on the bus ride. I assume we will want somewhere that we have room to sit, have a plan B nearby in case of rain, access to public transportation, access to washrooms/toilets, etc.
Here are a few places I noted:
  • 1. Maritime Museum, Jerico Beach, Bard-on-the-Beach, Kitsilano Seawall, View English Bay, Burrard Bridge
  • 2. Denman and Davie intersection, Alexandra Park (Haywood Bandstand), Inukschuk, English Bay, People Sculptures, Oppenheimer Statue, Stanley Park Lawn Bowling Club, Fish House, Second Beach and waterpark, Seawall and view of West Vancouver and Kitsalano, Vancouver Pride Picnic
  • 3. Gas Town, Gassy Jack Statue, Steam Clock, Hudson House, Europe Hotel, Captain French Building, Dunn Building